Gigolette’s Rulebook – Volume 2 Chapter 1

I’ve always considered myself as someone who plans things thoroughly, a cunning person as one would call it, especially when it comes to my personas. But my departure from the village is easily one of the most thoughtless plans I’ve ever formulated. I have no means to travel from one place to another because my people use the surrounding roads. I can’t simply pick a random town or city to visit because of Ziba’s influence and information network. But despite my lack of planning, it still beats subjecting myself to all the suffocating things in Ziba village.

I started traversing the woods just like how Xandra did when she left. Who knew that my mother also ran away at my age. Despite claiming to be her lover, I still have no idea how she was when she was a kid. Perhaps I should’ve placed more effort into knowing her as my lover instead of her body. An important note for another time, maybe.

While sitting on a tree branch with fruit in my right hand, I take a closer look at my surroundings using Gula’s eyes. Ahh, that’s right, I haven’t talked about this gift ever since I received them, haven’t I?

Gula’s eyes are basically a gift that allows me to see edible and inedible things in my surroundings. It was a little useless at first since it only provided the name of the object I’m observing while dictating whether it was edible or not. As time progressed, the amount of information I learn and the quantity I can identify at the same time increases. Unfortunately, using this gift requires a lot of mental energy instead of mana, so I can only use it for about 6 hours a day. 

I usually pair Gula’s eyes with my heightened senses. Although my heightened senses are passive, it still amplifies Gula’s effects and would need more mental energy, so it isn’t invincible per se.

Today marks my second month outside the village, and I’ve been living off nothing but fruits, plants, and vegetables I spot using Gula’s eyes. I’m already on my fourth hour, and the number of beasts I locate keeps increasing by the minute. I know I shouldn’t be picky, and I should be happy that I can still eat and drink, but I can’t help myself but hate Rule # 10. I want to eat meat too.

With a frown, I hatefully chomp down the fruit before jumping towards another branch. While aimlessly imitating a certain king of the jungle, I spot a carcass on the corner of my eye at a distance. I was so distracted from what I discovered that my foot slipped, and I lost my footing, leading me to kiss the grassy floor.

I painfully push myself off the ground, dusting myself clean before scanning my surroundings, hoping that I didn’t lose sight of my recent discovery. I began walking in the general direction of the carcass while looking past the dense flora surrounding me. It took me a couple of minutes to finally see it, only to discover a few more beasts approaching the same remains I want. 

When I arrived, two more hungry monsters were eyeing the body; a grey wolfbane – that’s thrice the size of an ordinary wolf – and a sharp jaw – twice as big as a common boar. The three of us were looking at each other with me on top of a tree. The other two establish their dominance by growling at one another. It would’ve been another matter if I could kill them, but I can’t, so I need to retrieve the corpse without spilling any blood. 

I took a deep breath and took out my scimitar before heading towards the wolfbane as if signaling the beginning of the battle. Behind me was the boar, roaring as it rushed towards the angry wolfbane while showcasing its sharp teeth. The wolfbane howled in return as it lengthened its claws before facing us. Unfortunately for me, the wolfbane was much cleverer than I had anticipated that it aimed its dash at me instead of the boar.

Perhaps the wolfbane determined that I’m the easier prey and wants to finish me off first before fending the boar. 

Tsk, how unlucky.

With the wolfbane approaching fast, I manifest a string of condensed mana with rope-like properties using my free hand and sent one end towards a tree trunk behind me. Just as the other end of the rope had wrapped itself around the tree, the beast’s claws were only inches away from reaching me. I can’t lose any more time, lest I’ll be ripped to shreds with one attack even if I have strengthened my body.

Just before its claws reached me, I changed the rope’s properties to a stretched garter and sprung myself towards the trunk, escaping the wolfbane with a scrape on my leg. My body heavily slammed against the tree as a price for my escape, leaving my lungs unable to function for a moment.

My eyes blurred as I tried my best to send air to my lungs, only to cough up blood instead. When I looked up, thankful for my heightened senses that quickly adjusted back to normal, I saw the boar being overwhelmed by the wolfbane. I cursed under my breath as I struggle to sit up from being hanged from the branch. Who would’ve thought that I would have a hard time stealing a corpse against a wolfbane.

Before I could regain my bearings, my hand slipped that caused me to fall to the ground. With a loud thud, I fell and felt an agonizing sting on my abdomen. The wolfbane and the boar are still fighting, though it looks more like a one-sided murder. I need to get out of here, but my mind’s still a mess from all of the pain. The air and mana in my body can’t circulate properly because of my escape. How annoying.

I desperately pushed my heavy body off the ground, weakly manipulating the light around me to avoid detection. It’s a good thing that the wolfbane is still busy eating the boar since it’s taking me more time to create a proper barrier to surround me.

The wolf seems to be having the time of its life as it continues to devour the boar while I cling to the remaining vitality I have due to the wounds I’ve sustained. I didn’t think its claws would contain poison as my leg slowly turns purple. I can’t even create the right mana circles because my lungs haven’t recovered yet. Not to mention I fell on my dagger and stabbed myself in the gut. How pathetic.

Once I’ve successfully created a suitable barrier, although it would only blur my presence, it should be enough to allow me to blend among my surroundings. I rest my back on the tree and stabilize my breathing, slowly but surely circulate mana and air in my body. I take in the mana and oxygen in the air and send them into my lungs, carefully opening the congested veins before sending them throughout my body, especially my heart.

I don’t know how long I spent resting against the tree, but when I opened my eyes once more, all that remained in my surroundings was the lingering smell of rotten flesh and blood. This much stench wouldn’t bother most people, but thanks to my heightened senses, being at this distance without proper mental preparation is overwhelming. For fuck’s sake.

I don’t know how many times I’ve swallowed my vomit as I picked myself from the ground. I wanted to head straight to the make-shift camp I’ve built before coming here, but something caught my eye after jumping on the first tree.

“A magic crystal. . .”

I whisper under my breath before jumping off once again. I push off the mangled remains of the boar and pick up a three-inch faint yellow crystal stained with blood. What surprised me wasn’t because there was a magic crystal inside the boar’s heart but because of the information that Gula’s eyes had revealed.

[Magic Crystal (Grade C) – Consumable. It has a rough texture and tastes a little earthy but provides little sustenance. It grants limited average mana to the consumer but tastes a little funny.]

“I can eat this?”

I ask myself with a bewildered expression. I’m not one who’s easily surprised, and I thought that I’ve seen most Alealamia has to offer, but I didn’t think someone could eat magic crystals from beasts. How interesting.

I came here and risked my life for some meat, yet I received far more peculiar food than I initially thought. With a smile, I swallowed the crystal before licking the remaining blood on my fingertips. The corpses of the earlier monster and the sharp jaw look unappetizing even without Gula’s eyes telling me so.

[Mangled corpse (Grade F-) – Are you that desperate for food that you want to eat raw scraps? Don’t you have some self-respect?]

With a smile painted across my lips, I pick up my scimitar and dagger before heading back. Now, I don’t crave meat that much anymore. 

But why is my heart suddenly tightening? My chest feels heavy, and my head feels light. What the fuck is happening right now? Gula’s eyes didn’t. . . lie. . . right. . .?


. . !

Where am I? I clearly remember I was still in the forest. If I fell unconscious, then I’m as good as dead in Alealamia. Fuck. I don’t think Gula’s eyes lied but – wait, is this. . . 

a. . . !

White walls, clean floors, medical equipment, and the stench of death. Yeah, I’m in the hospital all right, but why?

. . ma. . . !

And what’s with all that noise? And who’s that – Vivian?

. . . Mama!

Ivy. . .? Why am I here? Am I back on earth? Damn, I look disgusting while crying. Ahh, I remember now. This was when Vivian died because she saved a puppy from getting run over. A stupid reason to die, I know. But –

Vivian, you idiot! Why did you save some dog if you’re going to leave me behind?! 

Wake up! Wake up! Wake up!

I said, wake up! Why won’t you wake up!

Are you going to leave your 12-year-old kid because of some dog you don’t even own?! Why do you always do things that are so stupid?!

Wake up, you idiot! Ma! I can’t live without you! Ma!

Doctor! Please save my mother! Do everything you can to save my mother, please! I’m begging you! I’ll do anything! Just please, save my mother!

Did I really react this way? Wow, I think I’m an acting prodigy. If I knew, maybe I could’ve made a living by acting instead of using my body. How annoying.

Ivy. . .?

Ma?! Ma! You’re awake! You asshole, how could you scare me like that?! Do you know how worried I was?! Because of your stupidity, we have medical bills to pay on top of all Chad’s debt! Why won’t you ever think things through you – you ass. . .!

I’m sorry. . . It was. . . just so. . . cute. . . It would be a. . . a waste. . . n-noh. . .?

What waste are you talking about?! Shut up and rest! I’m going to school. I missed the entire morning because of you. . .

D-Don’t be mad. . . I’m sorry. . . Ivy. . . Mama won’t. . . won’t do it again. . .

You better!

H-hey. . . Ivy. . .? C-can you promise me. . . something. . . ? 

No

Haha. . . haah. . . Still a great sense. . . of humor. . . promise. . . promise me. . . you’ll never. . . ever hurt. . . animals. . . they did. . . did nothing. . . wrong. . . 

Why are you talking like I’ll take my anger out of them or something? Of course, they did nothing wrong! You’re the stupid one here.

Heh. . hehe. . th-then. . . I’m. . . I’m glad. . . I’m sorry. . . baby. . . I. . . sorry I won’t. . . I’m sorry. . . baby. . .

Ma? Ma?! MA! 

Holy fuck! Nurse! Nurse! Fuck! Where the fuck are the doctors?! 

DOC -!

Ahh, right. Vivian died after that conversation. Why am I seeing this anyway? Why -wait, Xandra?


When I opened my eyes, it was already nighttime. I tried to sit up, but it seems that my hands are tied. Someone found me while I was unconscious, huh. At least, I’m still alive.

I take a look at my surroundings and saw a silhouette facing its back towards me while covering the fire. I look back up at the sky before trying to sit up despite my hands tied behind my back. The silhouette turned towards me just when I was halfway through a sitting position. Thanks to my heightened senses, I could see the glint in their smile when they saw me.

“Yer awake!”

They said as they stood from their spot and approached me. Now that I got a good look at this person, she looks like a woman, maybe in her late twenties.

“Good good, a pretty face like yerself will fetch a pretty penny when awake. Hahaha!”

Judging from her language, she must be a stray slaver or a lost mercenary looking for an easy coin. How boring.

“Now that I think about it, you really are a looker. I wouldn’t want to taste you after Gajus has had his way with you. Let’s see how you look under there, shall we?”

She’s undressing me, and she’s touching me. This mother fucking shit is touching me while lustfully licking her drooling lips. This bitch is going to die.

Since this ass cuffed me with magic restraints, it can’t effectively suppress elemental energy. There should be a leak somewhere – there it is. I need to gather as much mana as I can without this fucker noticing. She’s torn my upper clothing and is now licking my neck. How repulsive. 

This bitch is lucky I’m cuffed, else I will skin this asshole alive. She placed my hands above my head as she continued to explore my chest with her tongue. 

I need to compress it further, denser, tighter, before this asswipe reaches down my pants. Finally! I should aim to her head while she’s busy sucking my nipples and –

“Hi, there! I know you’re busy and all, but I just wanted to tell you that I’m going to kill you now.”

“Ha?”

FIRE!

Thankfully this whore was busy basking in my gloriousness, or else I would’ve really mauled this bitch even if I break my bones. I push off the lifeless body before sitting up. Good thing she transferred my hands to my front while she was getting her way with me.

Fuck, I still have shivers from being touched. Yuck! I empty the bandit’s pockets in search of the keys of these restraints only to come empty-handed. I click my tongue before kicking the bandit’s lifeless face that had a blissful expression. I bet she died a happy death since she got to harass my body. Fuck, I want to kill her a dozen times over.

I create another condensed light bullet and shoot the chains that hold the cuffs together. It took four weakening shots to break the link, exhausting me to the point that I almost pass out due to hunger and mana fatigue. If it weren’t because of these cuffs, I would’ve easily flayed that bitch alive.

I’m hungry, but I don’t have enough strength to look around for food. I look around with Gula’s eyes and discovered something interesting, well not really since I’ve seen this since a year ago, but still interesting nonetheless.

[Fresh Human Meat (Grade D) – A good source of protein and nutrients. It should be treated as any other meat since it can be acquired anywhere. It doesn’t possess any unique properties. It is best eaten when cooked but lowers its quality.]

Gula’s eyes say I can eat it raw if I want to preserve its quality, but eating it raw will only upset my stomach, so I need to cook it. I pick up my dagger that she stole and sat beside the corpse. I was planning to chop her casually, but considering the transgressions she committed towards me, I believe savoring every part would be better.

With a devious smile, I begin stripping her bare and made make-shift ropes using her clothes. I then tie it around her feet before raising it against a thick branch to hang the body upside down. Using the same dagger, I cut out a wide bark from a tree trunk to serve as a make-shift bowl and place it directly beneath the corpse. I then haphazardly cut off her hair before slitting her throat to drain her from her blood.

Despite my increasing hunger and diminishing strength, I push my body to the limits by making simple traps using sharpened branches while increasing the fire’s intensity and preparing it for cooking. Once the bark is full of blood to the brim, I begin flaying the body, cutting off bits and pieces while placing them on the bitch’s sword as an alternative pan.

I cut out another bark to serve as a plate where I placed the cut-out meat while waiting for the others to cook completely. It wasn’t the best set-up, but enough to satisfy my hunger. The entire ordeal most likely took two hours until I heard some rustling behind the wooden fence. With my upper body still stained with blood and juice, I picked up another piece of cooked meat and headed towards the hanging sack of meat. The only resemblance that remained would be stained bones that barely had any muscle left.

I cut off the rope that caused the body to fall like a puppet cut off from its strings. I then picked the body up and threw it past the fence to buy me some time. My body is still a little sore, and I can’t feel most of my strength because of the cuffs, so I can’t protect myself if my meal attracted some beasts.

I quickly fork down the remaining meat, ignoring the burn on my tongue while using my ripped clothes as a make-shift rucksack for the remaining uncooked food. I quickly fastened my weapons in place while tying the extra ones to my clothes. With the noise getting louder and louder, I use the gathered blood to put out the fire before jumping towards another tree.

It wasn’t the best day per se, but still better than the ones I’ve previously had. I can’t wait to take a bath and have proper clothes. I really should’ve killed that bitch a hundred times over. But life never goes the way we want it to since when I arrived at the tree where I hid my stuff, my rucksack wasn’t there anymore, and the rope I used to secure it got cut.

Fuck.

Fuck!

FUCKITY FUCK FUCK FUCK!


Leave a comment